The ESL program is divided into the following five (5) proficiency levels:

  • Level 1: Beginning
  • Level 2: High Beginning
  • Level 3: Intermediate
  • Level 4: High Intermediate
  • Level 5: Advanced

The program focuses on five (5) skillsets: grammar, listening, reading, speaking, and writing. In fact, a full-time ESL student will be required to take a cluster of ESL courses for a total of 20 hours per week over a duration of 12 weeks. All levels provide daily communication, listening, reading, writing, and communicative grammar practice. In addition, students will work with audio, video, computer software, and the Internet. Since classes are small students are able to receive personalized attention.

The ESL program offers optional assistance programs for all levels that are taught after normal classroom instruction from 1:30 pm – 3:30 pm three (3) days per week for a total of six (6) hours that include Speaking, Learning at Your Pace (LYOP), and Writing. The classes are normally taught in group sessions or special arrangements can be made between the student and the instructor for one-on-one tutoring.

Program Requirements

Students receive Shepherd ESL Program Completion Certification when they successfully complete level five (5) with passing grades (C- and above). The following is a list of Shepherd University’s ESL program courses:

English Language Program

Classes 100 200 300 400 500
Pronunciation o
Grammar & Writing o
Grammar o o o o
Writing o o o o
Reading & Vocabulary o o o o o
Listening &
o o o o o
Critical Thinking Skills &
Academic Writing
Speaking & Writing Assistance Programs o o o o o